The NAACP Image Awards took place last week and celebrated "outstanding achievements and performances of people of color in the arts as well as those individuals or groups who promote social justice." Roslyn M. Brock, Chairman of the NAACP talked about the importance of these awards and the contributions in the arts this year.

This has been an incredible year from the artistic community. The NAACP Image Awards provides an excellent venue to recognize those who make a difference through art and activism, and we are excited to honor and celebrate this caliber of talent.

Winners include:
Kevin Hart - Entertainer of the Year
Steve McQueen - Best Director, 12 Years a Slave
Forest Whitaker - Best Actor, Lee Daniels' The Butler
Lupita Nyong'o - Best Supporting Actress, 12 Years a Slave
Angela Bassett - Best Actress, Black Nativity

Idris Elba - Actor in a Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special, Luther

David Oyelowo - Best Supporting Actor, Lee Daniels' The Butler
Regina King - Directing in a Dramatic Series, Southland
Kerry Washington - Actress in a Drama Series, Scandal
Gabrielle Union - Actress in a Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special, Being Mary Jane

LL Cool J - Actor in a Drama Series, NCIS: Los Angeles

Check out the complete list of winners here.

The Miramax Connection

Angela Bassett has been nominated for 18 Image Awards, winning 11 times, including her performance in Music of the Heart.

Whoopi Goldberg has been nominated for 17 Image Awards, winning 8 times, including her performance in The Long Walk Home.

Pam Grier has been nominated for 9 Image Awards, including her performance in Jackie Brown.

Other standout performances include:

Chiwetel Ejiofor in Kinky Boots and Dirty Pretty Things

Queen Latifah in Chicago

Jeffrey Wright in Basquiat

One of the biggest winners this awards season has been 12 Years a Slave. Steve McQueen, Lupita Nyong'o and Chiwetel Ejiofor are all nominated for Oscars. Tune in this Sunday to see if they win and if you haven't already, don't forget to take our Oscar Ballot Challenge. Click here to enter.